Foody blues

Image

This woman looks how I feel at the moment

I’ve been eating like crap the last week or so, and I feel like crap for it. Basically, I tend to lose the plot when I get busy, and end up not exactly skipping meals (HA! that’s never going to happen) but skipping snacks so that when I DO eat it’s a massive bowl of whatever I can get my hands on easily. I know that what I need is small, regular, protein-rich meals with little to no carbs or added sugar, but as soon as I’m out 2 or 3 nights in a row and then don’t get to the shops, all that knowledge is next to useless.

It’s annoying, but this eating well business requires being really organised and vigilant. No slacking off! There were three or four days of last week where I’d run down to next to nothing in the cupboards and had to buy just about every meal. This is not good Gen! Although the exercise thing is going well these days – I’ve had two sessions with my new trainer and they’ve been awesome – I’m so way off the time where food and diet and my weight are just non-issues.

Waaah! Although I’m now all psyched for a new week, and I’ve actually been shopping and I’ve got my meals planned, I’m still feeling fat and frumpy and miserable and sorry for myself. That may have something to do with the fact that we went for a really long walk along the beach this arvo, then I was stuck in traffic for nearly 2 hours and was starving so I bought KFC for dinner instead of waiting until I got home to cook the first of my planned meals for the week. It’s such a vicious cycle too. I may not have goten so hungry today had yesterday been a better day. Sigh…

Anyway, so enough sooking, this week I’m going to cook two different meals and each one will give me 3 or 4 serves, so will do for dinner and lunch and then dinner again. It wasn’t too taxing to have to think of two meals and shop for them, and not having to cook every night means I’m less likely to buy food. There will be a couple of meals where I have to eat out but I’ll try and remember the golden rules when I do: portion control and protein.

My daily diet is going to go something like this:

Breakfast: homemade muesli or ONE piece of toast with cheese and tomato
Snack: 2 sugar-free oat biscuits
Lunch: left over salmon and brie quiche or chow mein, depending on what I cooked the night before
Snack: grilled haloumi
Dinner: as per lunch

I’m posting it here to be accountable. Obviously I’m not fretting too much about the fat content of the food, or the calorie count, because even though I DO want to lose weight, I’m not going to tie my brain up in knots to do it – that energy needs to be put elsewhere at the moment.

Ok-doke, now I’m off to put the chow mein ingredients in the slow cooker ready to be popped on when I leave for work in the morning.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

