Hello world!

Status Update

Been a little while, poetry my friend
Tortured confessionals gone, as is the creative drive
How to put pen to paper
When the urge to purge is gone?
When life is a happy hum,
My writing comes undone
Lame rhyming couplets the best that I can do
Still, this restless beast remains untamed
And I pace, creative outlets allude
Always searching, crawling, craving
Someone get this girl a muse!

Oh look, another blog! What an original idea. I bet you were just thinking the other day that what the dub dub dub needs is another blog. When I told my brother I was thinking about starting a blog, he said “you should totes do that. People love blogs” (ok he didn’t actually say totes – I just wished he had). And that’s my point. We (the collective we, the royal we) do love blogs. I love blogs. And there are already a LOT of them out there.

I follow blogs that are witty and designed to shock, like this one – shrinkingkitty.com.au, which is filthy, and although I’ll happily snigger away and applaud a really epic, nasty rant, that’s not a sandpit I want to play in, unless (or until?) I decide my professional reputation doesn’t matter a damn.

There are blogs I follow, like this one – leopards in my loungeroom, or this one brands for tomorrow, or even this one – boxchallenge. I enjoy all of these for various reasons, not the least being that they’re written by friends of mine. There are blogs aplenty written by Mums, or creative types, or families who are pursuing the ‘good life’, or have made a sea change, or have run off to the bush to grow all their own food, home school their four million children and stockpile for the apocalypse.

I’m active on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram. I’ve enthusiastically adopted that wanky bourgeois habit of photographing every meal I create or order off a menu. (What IS that all about?) I’m a member of forums – two in particular, where the emphasis is on simple, frugal living that nicely combine sharing and caring with biting social commentary.

What I don’t see too often is blogs written by women like me – early 30s, no kids, single (by that I mean legally unencumbered. I do have a boyfriend – more on him later), urban dwelling, Australian, and with a reasonable amount of financial freedom and the luxury of choice that comes with it.

In this blog I hope to share the things I find on line (and In Real Life (IRL)), that make me smile, the things that piss me off, the moral dilemmas life throws up and explore the questions and issues that I think will interest women like me.

I don’t know about you lot, but I love being in my 30s. My 20s were a bumpy ride – hardly the long glorious decade of scaling the heights of career success and personal achievement that I’d expected, nor was I travelling the world and having glamorous love affairs, but now I’ve found (at the risk of gagging on my own wankerishness) a measure of inner peace that I ‘think’ is worth sharing. (I’m also going to overuse the word wanker, just FYI).

Now that the time has come to define myself on paper, it’s really hard! Who am I, and why should you care? Well I’m Gen. I’m 31, a virgo, a sister, a daughter, a girlfriend, a friend, an Aunty. I went to Uni for a million years (I may have lied about the number of years), and studied Arts followed by a PhD in International Relations. Now I work for a University in Melbourne. I read a lot, cook a little, sew occasionally, work out often enough to say that I am Someone Who Works Out, and generally just potter around. I’m also clumsy as shit and possibly a borderline hypochondriac.

So this blog will basically be a repository for book, film, show and restaurant reviews, sharing other blogs, fashion, social commentary, experimental cooking, incessant bragging about the joys of living alone, and posting amusing memes*.

So, dear readers, let’s kick this off. How do you define yourself?

*Memes are those (usually funny, sometimes just weird) ‘things’ that take off on the internet – go viral. It could be a photo, a comment, a quote. Whatever it is it becomes part of the lingo for a while, like Two Girls One Cup for example. If you don’t know what Two Girls One Cup is I suggest you google it. Don’t worry, it’s perfectly safe for work.

2 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Hi Gen!

    Nice to ‘meet’ you. Photographing meals and blogging about them is really quite helpful for the plebs among us (a.k.a. me) who want to know what they are getting when they pay a million dollars for the degustation menu at a fancy restaurant, so keep it up. 😉

    From a 20-something sleep deprived, slightly insane mother of one, who enjoys a lot of the same things you do and is looking forward to some light but thought-provoking reading!

Leave a Reply

